AQL Numbers

AQL Numbers is how many defects occur during an inspection before the inspection fails. These numbers range from 0 to 6.5 and are assigned to different Defect Classifications, including Minor, Major, and Critical. A higher AQL Number allows for a greater number of defects to be discovered before classifying the inspection as failed. For example:

  • 0.65 = Critical defects
  • 2.0 = Major defects
  • 5.0 = Minor defects

When a FQ client does not provide the AQL Numbers, we use:

  • 0.0 for Critical
  • 1.5 for Major
  • 4.0 for Minor